City of Love: Paris Day 2

November 2012

This is how our street looks like from our balcony at 6ish in the morning. It is crazy how we  were up so early but we slept real early the night/evening before.

DSC01211

DSC01216

***

We decided to have breakfast at the hotel because we were up early and it was doubtful that any bakery was opened at 7 plus in the morning. Breakfast was at 15 Euro per head for quite a good spread of items. It was one of the rare times since the birth of Baby Ryan when we sat down for an hour or so, having some delicious good breakfast over hot chocolate and discussing about news.

DSC01217

DSC01218

DSC01219

DSC01221

DSC01224

DSC01228

DSC01225

****

DSC01229

DSC01230

***

DSC01233

DSC01237

DSC01239

DSC01244

***

DSC01251

DSC01257

DSC01260

DSC01261

****

We went on a guided tour to the Eiffel Tower with Fat Tire because E thinks that we will get a better idea of the Eiffel when there is a guide explaining everything to us. And it is true. Our guide shared with us many interesting stories and insights about Eiffel and it made our experience much richer.

DSC01262

DSC01263

DSC01264

DSC01266

DSC01268

DSC01269

DSC01271

DSC01277

DSC01281

DSC01284

DSC01288

DSC01290

Some people actually feel that the Eiffel Tower is over hyped and I was one of those. When I reached the top with E, and being with him, overlooking the beautiful city of Paris, the feeling is indescribable. I don’t know if it was the freezing cold weather or the fact that E and I have not been out together(as a couple) for such an extended period of time, but being able to huddle together to keep warm, holding hands at the top of the Eiffel tower is such a romantic feeling.

DSC01292

DSC01296

***

Tea Break. Had hot chocolate and sugar crepes.

DSC01299

***

DSC01301

The search for the Best Falafel! And we did find the shop that sells the best falafel as recommended by our guide for Eiffel Tower. On a Monday(around 11ish-12ish), there was a queue outside the shop! Impressive isn’t it? The owner was telling me that if we were to come on a Sunday, the queue would have been much much longer.

DSC01302

DSC01304

DSC01309

DSC01310

Here’s E with our falafels! We did not take many photos because the weather was freezing and the falafels were so delicious! Then we started our journey to Chanel- to buy my first Chanel. And of course, E thought that it was not a very long walk away(but it was) and I threw a hissy fit half-way and we took train down three metro stations before we reached Concorde- my fairyland. Heehee. Before we went to Chanel, we went to this small coffee house nearby for a much needed toilet break and hot chocolate break.

DSC01314   DSC01317

DSC01318

DSC01320

DSC01323

DSC01321

DSC01328

DSC01332

DSC01333

Hello, my first Chanel at 28. It has been a long long while. I have decided on a beige classic clasps because I thought black was a bit too common. Thank you, Mister E for convincing me that there is no better place to get my first Chanel than Paris. And I am so happy that my first Chanel is bought by my hubby!!

! I love you so much! xxx

Ever since my early 20s, I knew that I wanted a Chanel but whenever the occasion arises(be it birthday or anniversary) to buy it in Singapore, I will just pull back at the last minute because I feel that it is really expensive for just a leather bag. So, in October this year, E apparently had enough of my indecision and bought the tickets to Paris and insisted that I should just purchase my Chanel and stop asking should I or should I not… Heehee.

DSC01335

After my Chanel purchase, we went on to LongChamp to get 5 more bags- one for myself and 4 others as gifts. Yes, a very expensive Day 2. E and I heard many scary stories about Paris- about Paris being the worst city to visit in Europe, friends being mugged, mobile phones got snatched away, rude people, bags being stolen on the Metro. Thankfully, we were very safe during the trip and we even lugged all our bags shopping on the Metro and no one really looked like they wanted to rob us.

In fact, during our stay in Paris, we met really nice people-people who opened doors for me, people who asked if we needed help with directions, our Eiffel guided trip was complimentary because of what happened for our cancelled Segway trip, people allowing me to skip the queue because I am pregnant, and the metro is definitely not as scary how how some of my friends described to be(!!!)… well, overall, it has been a wonderful trip, peppered with many good people. Thank God.

***

Back in the hotel…

DSC01338

DSC01339

DSC01340

DSC01342

DSC01345

And dinner was take-away from the Chinese-French bakery. I was so tired after the whole day of walking and shopping. It was such a beautiful and emotional day- seeing the Eiffel, finally getting my bags. Life is good.

****

I know we are blessed and should not take anything for granted. In fact. last week, there were some mini crisis(even though E would not call it as a crisis and I am more like the worry wart) but it was resolved a few days later. I suppose sometimes we need some faith and patience in life(values that I lack, but trying to learn) and I am thankful that God has been faithful to me and my family in so many situations.

****

Leave a Reply

