#yolo

October 2013

Like what I promised, I will be blogging on a big change for me and my family. Most of my close family members and friends would have already known what the news is going to be about.

Every October somewhat brings about change for us. In a good way. Just to recap:
October 2009: Paid out deposit for our first house in Telok Kurau
October 2010: Project Baby Ryan. Purchase of baby-friendly car, Jetta.
October 2011: Ended weeks of house-searching in Pasir Ris after selling our first house. Paid our deposit for our JLB place.
October 2012: Project Baby Gillian. E’s birthday present to me was Babymoon, Paris.
October 2013: ?

*drumroll….* We will be relocating to London for at least 2 years. It is a huge step but we are all in it together.

***

When E sounded me out about his plans in September, I was torn between being happy and being worried. I was happy because I always wanted to have an experience of living abroad. Due to unforeseen circumstances during my university days, I was unable to go for my exchange and this has been one of my biggest regrets. The thought of being able to live and immerse myself in London for 2-3 years is exciting.

On the other hand, I realise that I am no longer the young and single lady with little commitments. Now, I am a mother of two very young kids. There are so many worries off my head. Will I be able to attend to their needs accordingly when I am in a foreign land. Will I be able to handle the household chores, the preparation of meals, the teaching of materials and play with the kids? There will be little no help as my parents will be in Singapore. On weekdays, E will be at work and I will be the sole care-giver for the children. I am not a stay at home mom(SAHM) in Singapore. So, this begets the question, will I be able to manage being a SAHM in London and will this experience be a potentially rewarding or depressing one.

***

For years, I have been asking E to “retire” me so that I get a chance to be a SAHM. We almost have the same discussions daily on the way to my workplace. There are days when I sound serious(almost passionate) on being a SAHM. I suppose God heard my prayers and E decided to actualise my SAHM dream. The only difference would be the location. I would be in London, instead of Singapore. (-_-)”’ The opportunity of being a SAHM is in front of me, it is weird how I have so much reservations now. My qualms range from the brittle cold weather, Ryan’s pre-school education, the kids’ health, having no family support, being on a single income and so on.

After much discussion with family members and friends, I decided to be supportive towards this decision. A straw poll among the close ones indicated that almost 80% of the people think that it will be a positive and exciting change for me and the family especially when the kids are young and I will be able to home school both of them for the time being. The kids’s pediatrician, Dr Vasanthi thinks that the London air will be great for the kids’ health.

***

There are so many things that I will miss. I will miss my family and our evenings talking about nothing and everything(Yes, we are THAT close!). The friends whom I have known for years and just made. The convenience of having help and E and I having date nights. The awesome food which always hit the sweet spot for my char kway teow and bak chor mee. Our home, albeit messy at times. The usual faces. The Singaporean accent that I love.

However, like my blog post title states, #yolo, you only live once. This opportunity of living overseas does not come anytime. If I were to reject this chance, I can never be sure that the opportunity will arise again. If it does, it might be even more of an inconvenience if the kids are of schooling age. I imagine it will be fun for the children to experience the four seasons in London, to be able to run around Hyde Park and not being too sweaty, to have Mummy being with them 24/7. For me, it will be a chance for me to be more independent, to fulfil my teenage dream of living abroad and to possibly have some inspiration to write. For E, this stint is going to be great for his work and he will have a greater chance to watch Ryan Gigg’s testimonial match in Old Trafford with Ryan (this is something he has been talking about for years!). For our family, being in UK alone allows us to grow as a family and it also means that it will be more convenient for us to travel in Europe vis-a-vis if we were in Singapore.

As of now, we have plenty on our to-do list. Selling away unused items. Buying winter clothes. Packing and more packing. Plan gatherings. Settle the administrative stuff- change address and also get my refund from the maid agency. Research more on London and children-friendly places. Learn some simple dishes from my mom. Blog about the process of the move…. and so much more.

***

I will be positive and we will be happy, come what may. To end this post, I shall post one of my favourite poems by Robert Frost.

The Road Not Taken

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim
Because it was grassy and wanted wear,
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

****

And, Happy 29th to myself! Once again, an exciting year ahead!

****

One thought on “#yolo

  1. qixia84 says:

    Hello May! I chanced upon ur blog and wanted to share that i moved to UK few months back w my hubby and now-13mth old baby.. we are going to stay in uk for about 4 yrs. Its nt easy! Taking care of baby alone without any help, and doing all the household chores. But its v satisfying, being able to be here w my kid 24/7 and my family. Sometimes i still miss thelife back in sg, working and dressing up nicely to work, and especially miss sg food! Well, we r still adjusting , and hopefully life just gets better. jiayou ok! If u do need tips, email me jac.ben84@gmail.com cheers 🙂

Leave a Reply

