October’s Party!

October 2014

Three days more before we return to Singapore. It has been almost year since I last saw my mother and the excitement is driving me crazy. I cannot really sleep well because my brain is going amok with all the things that Eugene and I intend to do back home. There will be three weddings, many gatherings involving good Singaporean food.

On a separate note, I realised that I haven’t been blogging. Blogging is so much more work these days with the kids and household chores. I am totally toying with the idea of just shifting all the updates to just Instagram. Anyways, I thought I should do some quick update in this space while E minds the kids. (E is extremely supportive on me in this aspect!) I will just blog whatever that randomly pops up in my head. Here it goes:

1. Autumn is here!

DSC06149

DSC06150

DSC06153

DSC06157

DSC06159

DSC06287

The dreaded cold is back. Out goes the light jackets and in comes the thick woolly jumpers and coats. I am not a fan of winter in London. Not when I have to dress the children and the little ones detest having the additional layers.

2. International Day in school

DSC06009

DSC06026

DSC06032

DSC06040

DSC06045

DSC06057

International Day is an annual event in Ryan’s school. Students are encouraged to wear traditional costumes and families are invited to join in the fun. Initially, we were not planning on attending as I did not have time to make the snacks(I intended to make ondeh ondeh.). However, we ended up there due to unforeseen circumstances. I am quite thankful as it turned out to be an amazing day for everyone and I got to meet many of Ryan’s friends.

3. Sunday lunches!

DSC05992

DSC05997

DSC06065

DSC06070

We are getting used to the church followed by a nice lunch routine. Ryan and Gillian are still adjusting to Sunday school. Most Sundays, they seem to be absolutely fine. However, there are just some occasions when they get slightly whiney and tears will just flow uncontrollably. Thankfully, the teachers at Sunday school are really good in handling the little ones.

4. Steamboat at TW’s

DSC06135

DSC06137

DSC06139

DSC06141

TW hosted a steamboat session at his place and oh man, I totally have forgotten how much I missed steamboat till that day. It was a huge spread of food, mainly from SeeWoo and scallops from Billingsgate! There was the usual Poker session. That day, I learnt how to play the game and I thought it was quite interesting. Still, not a fan of such card games. Give me Bananagrams or Monopoly anytime!

5. Playdate with Martha!

DSC06161

DSC06172

DSC06175

Martha is Ryan’s good friend in school and he was so happy when she came over for dinner! Look at how chuffed he looked!

6. Ryan’s long day in school/Sg lunch

DSC06134

DSC06144

DSC06145

Ryan’s long day in school is usually the day when I meet up with my Sg ladies friends. It is one of the days that I look forward to because I get to speak in Singlish, talk about Singapore stuff and random stuff. It just feels relaxing because I get to be in my comfort zone. As Ryan would be in school for longer hours, it also meant that I only need to handle Gillian. Easy peasy. Heehee.

7. Playdate at Helena/Miki’s

DSC06312

DSC06320

DSC06332

DSC06352

Helena invited us over for lunch and playdate. It must be one of the most well planned playdate that I have been to. Lunch was really delicious and she even had a breadstick making session for the children, followed by tea provided by Claire. Ryan and Gillian definitely enjoyed themselves!

8. “Not a Halloween” party!

DSC06361

DSC06363

DSC06368

DSC06370

DSC06373

DSC06374

We went for a “Not a Halloween” themed party at a church with Yiling and Edward. Instead of celebrating darkness, the good people at church were explaining how they wanted to celebrate the notion of light, something opposite of what Halloween is about. There were pretty neat activities planned for the children- like designing their lanterns, carving heart shapes into pumpkins and whatnots.

9. Halloween at Yiling’s.

DSC06381

DSC06388

DSC06392

DSC06394

DSC06396

DSC06400

DSC06402

It was a very impromptu one actually. It was one of the Saturdays in October when I met Catherine for a thrift sale. E left Baby Gillian at Yiling because he had to pick Ryan up for Chinese class. We ended up staying at Yiling’s place for the entire day and we decided to throw a last minute Halloween party for the kids. It was unfortunate that only Gillian was in her Tinkle-bell costume. Ryan and Edward did not want to wear their pirate and Dracula costume respectively. Noah did not bring his bat boy costume. Not so nice for photo opportunity. But the children had fun with the balloons and the torch lights that we bought from Poundland. Hahahaha.

10. Dimsum at Saikei!

DSC06414

DSC06416

DSC06420

DSC06422

DSC06423

It was our first time to Saikei and I must say that it was quite  a good one. They have a relatively good variety of dim sum. It was also on that day when we discovered that Gillian might be allergic to prawns. As usual, we put some noodles and a prawn on her bowl and she started eating all by herself. It was like 15 minutes laters when E noticed that she was scratching her neck and quite abit. It was only then we realised that she had rashes all over her chin and neck. After putting away her prawn and getting her to drink loads of water, the rashes did go away. Thank God!

11. Playdate with Annabel/Noah

DSC06426

DSC06430

DSC06436

DSC06440

DSC06464

DSC06466

DSC06477

DSC06480

DSC06481

DSC06482

DSC06489

DSC06494

DSC06498

DSC06504

DSC06507

DSC06516

DSC06521

DSC06522

DSC06524

DSC06526

It was one of those days in October where the sun was out and the kids did not need their jackets. 秋老虎 is what we would call that day. Anyways, the little ones met Noah and Leo for a picnic and playdate at Greenwich Park. We got some stuff from M&S as I was too lazy to prepare the picnic items. Ryan and Gillian got their much needed run in the park and enjoyed a good night’s sleep that day!

*****

Okay, these basically sums up our October. I suppose more happened but I did not remember them as there were no photos taken. Note to self: To remember to take more photos! Amidst all these happenings, I also had to pack everything as we had to move on 1 November. Looking back, it was quite a busy month, I must say. Thankfully, despite all these activities, we managed to have a smooth move to our current place. Thank God!

*****

Leave a Reply

