2D1NKent- A Day At Dover

4-5 April 2015

In an attempt of an early celebration for our April babies(Mama, Ryan and Gillian), we decided to go Kent, South East of England. Although it was already April, Saturday was still a rather wet day for a trip to Dover Castle. The day started off just cold but when we reached our destination, it rained. Bummer.

Dover Castle/Great Tower of Dover

DSC00241

King Ryan and Princess Gillian got a warm welcome by the jester of Dover Castle. He jokingly(yet it was so honest) called us the servants of these two little creatures. (-_-)”’

DSC00245

DSC00247

DSC00249

For starters, we went to do some art and craft activity with the children. They were supposed to use the stickers to come up with some pattern on their paper. Stickers are such good time-sink for the kids. They just get so pre-occupied with choosing the colours and pasting away.

DSC00250

DSC00256

Soon after, we went to explore Great Tower Dover Castle. Actually, the castles pretty much look the same to me. But there is always some element of excitement for Ryan and Gillian when we tell them that we would be visiting a castle. Apparently, what is in their mind is very different from mine. Maybe I am really not as cultured as I would like to be. My senses are pretty much dulled by all these history/literature thing despite me spending 6 years studying all these. (My idea of a vacation is really just being in some beach resort, doing absolutely nothing. Oh dear me….I am such a lazy person.)

Every time I visit such places, I am really impressed how they are always quite crowded with both the young and old. It seems like they are enjoying their time learning more about the place and soaking in the environment. I am in admiration of this trait that they all seem to possess.This is probably why I try to expose them to this ‘museum-castle-english heritage’, in hopes that they will grow to be more cultured than me.

DSC00260

DSC00270

DSC00279

DSC00288

DSC00290

DSC00292

Over climbing countless flights of stairs with the kids, we did reached to the top of the castle which overlooks the city of Dover and the White Cliffs. Breath-taking scenery!

DSC00299

Lunch was at the Great Tower Cafe, which serves pretty similar stuff as every other cafes at the English heritage locations. You can imagine having lasagna, pies, sandwiches and a range of cakes and ice creams. We bought lunch for ourselves while the kids had their typical snacks brought from home.

DSC00313

DSC00320

DSC00323

DSC00326

DSC00334

DSC00338

DSC00341

*****

White Cliffs of Dover

We left Dover Castle around 2ish as it was starting to rain quite heavily and we have our tour of the Great Tower. Initially, we intended to head to Premier Inn, where we were booked for a night of stay. However, somehow, we ended up at the White Cliffs of Dover, which is another tourist attraction of Dover. As you can see from the photo, both of the kids are slightly exhausted from the events in the morning at Dover Castle.

The White Cliffs are high chalk cliffs look out onto the English Channel, giving far-reaching views towards the French coast. Despite the cold and the wind, somehow we convinced ourselves to bring the kids and a stroller to walk along the muddy coastal path towards the South Foreland Lighthouse. (Note to self: Not to push a stroller along the coastal path. Like never do that.)

Being there with unsurpassed views of the English Channel and glimpses of the French coastline, it is the perfect place to pause, reflect and give thanks for the opportunity to be there to enjoy such beauty of nature.

DSC00355

Me an my beautiful mother. It breaks my heart to think that I will see her like more than a year later. Sighhh…. Counting down to the day when I get home. After all, isn’t there a saying home is where the mother is? My children’s home is with me. My home is with my mom. Heehee.

DSC00387

DSC00357

DSC00407

DSC00358

DSC00409

DSC00363

DSC00413

DSC00367

DSC00419

DSC00376

DSC00357

DSC00425

Premier Inn’s night stay!

This is actually one of the better hotel stays I had in UK. Hahahaha. I know it sounds really sad but like what I mentioned before, I am not much of those pretty things or along those lines. I like functional. And this is what the hotel provides for me and my family…. It is clean. No huge and cumbersome furniture. Flat screen television. Proper heating. Comfortable beds. Clean toilets and warm water. That is pretty much all I need. Of course, if it was just me and Eugene… I would love for the place to be sexier. But with two young children…. it is all right. Hahahha. I am really happy with functional.

ย DSC00428

Cityย Centerย of Dover/Dover Beach

By the time we got to the city centre, it was already 5pm. Due to the day light savings, it looks really bright still. However, most of the shops were closed then. Anyways, Dover City Center feels like a sleepy town. The children enjoyed their time at the beach though… they loved picking up pebbles, throwing them and crawling all over the pebble beach.

DSC00433

DSC00437

DSC00439

DSC00442

DSC00444

DSC00445

DSC00450

DSC00456

DSC00462

DSC00467

DSC00470

DSC00483

DSC00488

DSC00490

DSC00526

DSC00544

DSC00553

DSC00569

We had take away from some Italian restaurant for dinner. Allowed the kids to have water play in the bath time with the whole bag of toys they brought from home before we wind down for bed time. Everyone was so tired that we slept soundly till the next morning!

DSC00577

DSC00579

****

Leave a Reply

